[ RadSafe ] Blue Ribbon Commission on America's Nuclear Future

Strickert, Rick rstrickert at signaturescience.com
Sun Jan 31 08:02:10 CST 2010

Here's the Blue Ribbon Commission membership list, which should make for some interesting jockeying of proposals for a solution with the goal of being fully implemented in another twenty to thirty years... the goal including the option, if needed, of another Blue Ribbon Commission in 2040.

• Mark Ayers: president of the Building and Construction Trades Department at AFL-CIO.
• Vicky Bailey: former Commissioner at the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission
• Albert Carnesale: Chancellor Emeritus and Professor at UCLA 
• Former Sen. Pete Domenici, R-N.M: senior fellow at the Bipartisan Policy Center 
• Susan Eisenhower: president of the Eisenhower Group 
• Former Sen. Chuck Hagel, R-N.E. 
• Jonathan Lash: president of the World Resources Institute 
• Allison Macfarlane: associate professor of environmental science and policy at George Mason University 
• Dick Meserve: former Nuclear Regulatory Commission chairman
• Ernie Moniz: physics professor at Massachusetts Institute of Technology 
• Per Peterson: professor and chair at the nuclear engineering department at University of California - Berkeley 

Rick Strickert
Austin, TX

From: radsafe-bounces at radlab.nl [radsafe-bounces at radlab.nl] On Behalf Of Jaro Franta [jaro-10kbq at sympatico.ca]
Sent: Friday, January 29, 2010 6:42 PM
To: multiple cdn; RADSAFE
Subject: [ RadSafe ] Blue Ribbon Commission on America's Nuclear Future

Interesting anouncement......


January 29, 2010

Secretary Chu Announces Blue Ribbon Commission on America's Nuclear Future


.......which includes a list of Commission members.

As one commentator noted, the names on the list are as significant as the
names NOT on it:


......having no sodium-fast-breeder guys on this commission is really
significant.... This may be the biggest thing to ever happen to the
prospects for thorium and the liquid-fluoride reactor. The DOE's announced
their commision, and Per [Peterson is] on it. ...... Per [Peterson] is a
huge supporter of fluoride reactors and he understands their inherent
advantages over LWRs and IFRs.

<end quote>

(for more see http://www.energyfromthorium.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=63
<http://www.energyfromthorium.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=63&t=2148> &t=2148 )

The scope of the Commission is outlined in President Obama's memo:

Presidential Memorandum on the Blue Ribbon Commission (pdf - 10k)



Office of the Press Secretary

For Immediate Release January 29, 2010

January 29, 2010


SUBJECT: Blue Ribbon Commission on America's Nuclear Future


The Commission should conduct a comprehensive review of policies for
managing the back end of the nuclear fuel cycle, including all alternatives
for the storage, processing, and disposal of civilian and defense used
nuclear fuel and nuclear waste. This review should include an evaluation of
advanced fuel cycle technologies that would optimize energy recovery,
resource utilization, and the minimization of materials derived from nuclear
activities in a manner consistent with U.S. nonproliferation goals.


In performing its functions, the Commission should consider a broad range of
technological and policy alternatives, and should analyze the scientific,
environmental, budgetary, economic, financial, and management issues, among
others, surrounding each alternative it considers. Where appropriate, the
Commission may also identify potential statutory changes.


You are currently subscribed to the RadSafe mailing list

Before posting a message to RadSafe be sure to have read and understood the RadSafe rules. These can be found at: http://radlab.nl/radsafe/radsaferules.html

For information on how to subscribe or unsubscribe and other settings visit: http://radlab.nl/radsafe/

More information about the RadSafe mailing list