[ RadSafe ] Authors, 2007 SPM

Dukelow, James S Jr jim.dukelow at pnl.gov
Mon Mar 19 18:33:52 CDT 2007

There is no one in the list of Drafting Authors and Contributing Authors that is recognizably a politician.  Richard Alley (not Aley) is a prominent specialist in glaciers and icecaps.  Gabriele Hegerl, Fortunat Joos, Jonathon Overpeck, Venkatachalam Ramaswamy, Susan Solomon, Richard Somerville, Thomas Stocker, Peter Stott (not Stot), Phillip Jones, Gerald Mehl (Meehl?), and Kevin Trenberth are all prominent climate scientists.  Francis Zwiers literally wrote the book (with von Storch) on the use of statistics in climate research.  Mario Molina shared a Nobel prize with Sherry Rowland and a German whose name escapes me at the moment for working out the effect of CFCs on stratospheric ozone.

Best regards.

Jim Dukelow
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
Richland, WA
Jim.dukelow at pnl.gov

These comments are mine and have not been reviewed and/or approved by my management or by the U.S. Department of Energy.

-----Original Message-----
From: radsafe-bounces at radlab.nl [mailto:radsafe-bounces at radlab.nl] On Behalf Of Maury Siskel
Sent: Sunday, March 18, 2007 8:59 PM
To: radsafe
Subject: [ RadSafe ] Authors, 2007 SPM

The assertion has been made often that the IPCC SPM was prepared by politicians or policy people as contrasted  with scientific folks.

I finally got this thing converted -- follows a list of the authors. 
Does anyone know the educational backgrounds of  these writers?
Maury&Dog    (maurysis at peoplepc.com)
PS. I have the full 18 pages as a txt (vs pdf) file if anyone wants it.
Climate Change 2007: The Physical Science Basis.  
Summary for Policymakers

Drafting Authors:
Richard Aley, Terje Berntsen, NathanielL Bindof, Zhenlin Chen, Amnat Chidthaisong, Piere Friedlingstein, Jonathan Gregory, Gabriele Hegerl, Martin Heimann, Bruce Hewitson, Brian Hoskins, Fortunat Joos, Jean Jouzel, Vladimir Katsov, UlrikeLohmann, Martin Manning, Taroh Matsuno, Mario Molina, Nevile Nichols, Jonathan Overpeck, Dahe Qin, Graciela Raga, Venkatachalam Ramaswamy, Jiawen Ren, Matilde Rusticucci, Susan Solomon, Richard Somervile, Thomas F.Stocker, Peter Stot, Ronald J. Stoufer, Penny Wheton, Richard A.Wood, David Wrat
Draft Contributing Authors:
Julie Arblaster, Guy Braseur, Jens Heselbjerg Christensen, Kenneth Denman, David W.Fahey, Piers Forster, Eystein Jansen, Philip D.Jones, Reto Knuti, Hervé LeTreut, Peter Lemke, Gerald Mehl, Philip Mote, David Randal, Dáithí A. Stone, Kevin E. Trenberth, Jürgen Wilebrand, Francis Zwiers _______________________________________________
You are currently subscribed to the RadSafe mailing list

Before posting a message to RadSafe be sure to have read and understood the RadSafe rules. These can be found at: http://radlab.nl/radsafe/radsaferules.html

For information on how to subscribe or unsubscribe and other settings visit: http://radlab.nl/radsafe/

More information about the RadSafe mailing list